Test level age guide

A quick guide to CAT4 levels

CAT4 is available at seven different levels of difficulty. The tests have been developed in an overlapping, progressive format and are referred to as levels A to G. Levels X and Y refer to CAT4 Young Learners.

The target year group and age range covered by the norms for each test level are shown in the table below.

CAT4 Level Standardised Age Group Year group
X 6:00-7:11 1st Class
Y 7:00-8:11 2nd Class
Level A 7:06-9:11 2nd or 3rd Class
Level B 8:06-10:11 3rd or 4th Class
Level C 9:06-11:11 4th or 5th Class
Level D 10:06-12:11 5th or 6th Class
Level E 11:06-13:11 End of 6th Class and Early 1st Year
Level F 12:06-15:11 2nd or 3rd Year
Level G 14:06-17:00+ 4th or 5th Year


Schools are recommended to use the level of CAT4 shown for the year group they want to assess. This is particularly important if the school results are being combined with those from other schools for whatever reason.