Test level age guide

A quick guide to Progress Test in Maths (PTM) levels


Please refer to the table below to see the target year groups and age range covered for each test level.

PTM Level  Year Group
Level 5 Senior Infants
Level 6 1st Class
Level 7 2nd Class
Level 8  3rd Class
Level 9 4th Class
Level 10  5th Class
Level 11 6th Class
Level 11T End of 6th Class/entry to 1st year
Level 12 End of 1st year/beginning of 2nd year
Level 13 End of 2nd year/beginning of 3rd year